Dissertation/Thesis Abstract

Oboe Music Written for the Paris Conservatoire Concours
by Walker, Peter, D.M.A., University of Kansas, 2014, 59; 3681392
Abstract (Summary)

Since its founding in 1795, the Paris Conservatoire has produced many of history's greatest French composers and performers. After studying their instruments for a number of years, students competed in the annual concours. Students performed a piece of music written expressly for the concours and competed for the right to graduate. While graduating from the school did not guarantee job placement, it did assure employers that the graduates of the Paris Conservatoire were highly trained and capable musicians. Over time, the music written for the concours came to encompass a large collection of works. In many ways, the concours repertoire became its own unique genre. Despite the large number of composers and compositions written for the concours, there are many common elements that they share with one another.

This paper will serve as a guide to oboists who wish to learn a concours piece. Throughout this examination, possible difficulties will be identified and solutions will be offered. Examined are a selection of oboe concours music, written between 1816 and 1920. The pieces selected for this paper are: Première solo de concert for oboe and piano by Gustave Vogt, Deuxième solo de concert for oboe and piano by Stanislas Verroust, Deuxième solo de concert for oboe and piano by Charles Colin, Deux Pièces for oboe and piano by Charles Lefebvre, Solo pour Hautbois by Emile Paladilhe, and Sérénade for oboe and piano by Jules Bertain. All of the listed composers either taught at the Paris Conservatoire, or were commissioned to write a concours piece. This paper will be divided into two sections: 1) a brief history of the Paris Conservatoire and the concours , as well as some information about the oboes of the time and their changes, and 2) biographical information about the composers and a brief discussion of their pieces.

Indexing (document details)
Advisor: Marco, Margaret
Commitee: Cohan, Muriel, Levin, Alicia, Pierce, Forrest, Stomberg, Eric
School: University of Kansas
Department: Music
School Location: United States -- Kansas
Source: DAI-A 76/06(E), Dissertation Abstracts International
Subjects: Music
Keywords: Concours, France, French composers, Lefebvre, Charles, Oboe, Paladilhe, Emile, Paris Conservatoire, Verroust, Stanislas, Vogt, Gustave
Publication Number: 3681392
ISBN: 978-1-321-54112-0
Copyright © 2020 ProQuest LLC. All rights reserved. Terms and Conditions Privacy Policy Cookie Policy