Dissertation/Thesis Abstract

Piano music of Elisenda Fábregas: A stylistic analysis
by Park, Jinha, D.M.A., University of South Carolina, 2013, 126; 3561836
Abstract (Summary)

The purpose of this study is to present a stylistic analysis of the piano music by American-Spanish composer and pianist Elisenda Fábregas (b.1955). Fábregas' compositional output includes more than forty works for solo, chamber ensemble, vocal, chorus and orchestra; her large-scale piano works consist of Mirage (1997), Portraits I (2000), Homenatge a Mompou (2006), and Hommage à Mozart (2006). Chapter I consists of an introduction, including the purpose of the investigation and a literature review. Chapter II covers brief biographical information, compositional genre and style, and compositional output of piano, vocal and chamber music. Chapter III provides a stylistic analysis of the four concert piano works of Fábregas: Mirage (1997), Portraits I (2000), Homenatge a Mompou (2006) and Hommage à Mozart (2006). Chapter IV consists of a summary, conclusion, and recommendations for further research.

Indexing (document details)
Advisor: Lomazov, Marina
Commitee: Dubnjakovic, Ana, Fugo, Charles, Rackers, Joseph
School: University of South Carolina
Department: Music Performance
School Location: United States -- South Carolina
Source: DAI-A 74/09(E), Dissertation Abstracts International
Subjects: Music
Keywords: Elisenda fabregas, Homenatge a mompou, Hommage à mozart, Mirage, Portraits i
Publication Number: 3561836
ISBN: 978-1-303-09209-1
Copyright © 2021 ProQuest LLC. All rights reserved. Terms and Conditions Privacy Policy Cookie Policy